Bluapple – Prolongs Freshness Review & Giveaway

This post may contain affiliate links. Please read our full disclosure here.

I was compensated for this post, however all thoughts and opinions expressed are 100% my own. This post is based solely on my personal opinion and experience and results may vary from person to person.

BluApple1

Don’t you just hate it when your produce spoils before you have a chance to eat it and your money just gets thrown in the trash? Produce costs are rising and some produce can be pretty expensive. My husbands favorite apple is the Honeycrisp apple, they are only available in the fall and can fetch prices of over $4 per pound. They are so beautiful and sweet we cannot resist and is not a fruit that you want to let go to waste in the refrigerator. Have you ever heard of ethylene gas? It is not a gas you put in your car, it is a gas that naturally ripens produce. This gas is sort of thought of as the aging hormone of fruits and vegetables and is even used commercially to speed up the ripening process. In our refrigerator ethylene gas can be a bad thing, sealed nice and tight the gas has nowhere to go and is absorbed into the produce in effect causing it to ripen/spoil faster.

Bluapple

Introducing Bluapple, designed to absorb ethylene gas for up to three months. The Bluapple takes no batteries and does not wear out, it just absorbs ethylene gas up to it maximum capacity. It is not a deodorizer that will add other odors to your refrigerator and it is small enough to sit on the shelf out of the way, in a crisper drawer or storage bin.I have been trying the Bluapple in the refrigerator for the last month and it really is worth its weight in gold. Our lettuce lasts longer, carrots stay crisp and fresh. I keep grapes in the refrigerator in an open bowl so when the kids go to reach for a snack they will see them sitting there and avoid other unhealthy snacks. In the past my grapes would spoil within 4 days and the majority of time we had to throw some out, but with the Bluapple they last over a week and I have not thrown out any grapes since we started using it.

The wonderful folks at Bluapple have been gracious enough to offer one package of Bluapples to three of my wonderful readers. Be sure to show them some love on their facebook page and twitter. To enter for your chance to win use the Giveaway Tools widget below. Good luck!

 

 

About Justine

My name is Justine. I’m a mother of 4 kiddos (2 boys & 2 girls) and a wife to my high school sweetheart. I have two grandchildren that are 4 months and 15 months. I enjoy every minute that I’m able to be at home with all of my kids. We’ve recently decided to homeschool our other three children. This will be our first year and we are all really excited to start our new adventure. I love finding great deals on everything. I also enjoy trying products I’ve never tried before and reviewing them to pass my knowledge of them on to you. Giveaways are awesome! I love when I can share a giveaway of a product I’ve reviewed with my readers too. My passion is baking. I love chocolate! So while you’re here checkout our yummy recipes. Everything we make in our home that we deem “a keeper” we pass on and share with you. My hubby handles the technical side of Queen of Savings. He has a natural talent for anything IT related, including helping me build this website.

58 Responses to Bluapple – Prolongs Freshness Review & Giveaway

  1. katie klein September 15, 2013 at 3:38 pm #

    I currently don’t use any method except keeping them in the hydrater and making sure to get rid of spoiled items.

  2. Karen September 15, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    I would really like to save money by keeping things fresh. Often I don’t get a chance to finish what is in the crisper before it goes bad.

  3. Cheryl Chervitz September 15, 2013 at 5:15 pm #

    I really don’t have any methods right now. I just try to remember that its in the fridge and use it before it goes bad.

  4. Gina H. September 15, 2013 at 5:21 pm #

    I try refrigerating but it doesn’t always work.

  5. Lisa R September 15, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

    I just put it in the fridge

  6. Amy Desrosiers September 15, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    I do not currently have a routine

  7. mommasbacon September 15, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

    We use plastic produce savers

  8. Monique Eckert September 15, 2013 at 10:15 pm #

    We just keep veggies in the crisper and hope for the best.

  9. Krista B September 15, 2013 at 10:22 pm #

    I don’t have anything right now – I really need to though!

  10. lolaphong September 16, 2013 at 6:47 am #

    I keep my produce in the fridge–one fruit fly is one too many

  11. Amanda Price September 16, 2013 at 7:29 am #

    We just try to use up everything before it goes bad!

  12. Debra S September 16, 2013 at 7:42 am #

    I don’t have much of a strategy for my produce freshness right now, other than we try to use it up as fast as we can. And it’s awful right now, I am on a much lowered budget now. I used to shop once a week, now I try to go only ONCE a MONTH. It is practically impossible to keep some things for a month…

  13. Liz Terek September 16, 2013 at 8:22 am #

    I just put them in the fridge.

  14. Sharon Kaminski September 16, 2013 at 11:37 am #

    we just store them in the fridge and try to use them ASAP

  15. kim burnett September 16, 2013 at 2:53 pm #

    I really don’t have any methods right now

  16. PaulaMS September 16, 2013 at 3:28 pm #

    I haven’t had any luck so I just eat it before it goes bad.

  17. PaulaMS September 16, 2013 at 3:34 pm #

    RSS subscribe is http://feeds.feedburner.com/QueenOfSavings

  18. Dawn Hecke September 16, 2013 at 7:58 pm #

    I don’t have a current method. :-(

  19. ELIZABETH CURSON September 16, 2013 at 10:07 pm #

    I put items in the refrigerator. Some items I put in a brown paper bag and leave on the counter.

  20. john hutchens September 16, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    I currently wrap all my fresh vegetables in aluminum foil , it seems to prolong the life some

  21. Pam OLeary September 17, 2013 at 12:53 pm #

    I am not currently using any method to prolong the life of my produce, I was not aware that there was a way to do that.

  22. Terri S September 17, 2013 at 9:16 pm #

    I put a box or two of baking soda in the fridge.

  23. Amanda Hendricks-Selby September 17, 2013 at 11:37 pm #

    just make sure they’re in sight so I don’t forget about them before they go bad

  24. marian boll September 18, 2013 at 4:56 pm #

    Buy in smaller amounts and keep the fruit front and center so it get eaten faster.

  25. Jennifer Pittman September 19, 2013 at 3:01 am #

    I don’t really do anything, mostly I buy a small batchs, or if I bought a lot of say – strawberries, then make sure the whole family eats them for snacks and at meals till the are gone.

  26. Heather Freeman September 19, 2013 at 12:48 pm #

    I refrigerate.

  27. Tee September 20, 2013 at 3:54 pm #

    What a neat product! Would love to try!

  28. Steve Stone September 21, 2013 at 6:05 pm #

    we try to use it up

  29. Cindy September 22, 2013 at 12:38 am #

    I do not have a method.

  30. Debra Guillen September 22, 2013 at 9:40 am #

    I try to buy small quantities so they don’t go bad on me and I like to wrap my celery in aluminum foil because it seems to last longer

  31. Laura September 23, 2013 at 12:58 pm #

    I use Green Bags

  32. Cinella September 23, 2013 at 11:08 pm #

    We wash, sometimes precut and put in an airtight container.

  33. danielle johnson September 24, 2013 at 8:12 am #

    I freeze and refrigerate everything i can to last a little longer.

  34. Noreen September 24, 2013 at 11:45 pm #

    Wash and dry well before refrigerating

  35. Denise S September 27, 2013 at 5:25 pm #

    I keep it in the fridge and try to use it fast.

  36. Kim Parrott September 27, 2013 at 7:57 pm #

    I currently try to refrigerate – the methods I’ve tried previously haven’t worked out

  37. Myrna September 27, 2013 at 8:01 pm #

    I don’t have a method, and I end up throwing a lot away :(

  38. ky2here September 27, 2013 at 10:08 pm #

    Nothing besides removing produce from plastic bags.

  39. Terry Cross September 28, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

    Besides keeping refrigerated I really have no method

  40. Janice Crespo September 28, 2013 at 1:49 pm #

    I keep the in the produce bin of the fridge

  41. Deb S September 28, 2013 at 5:28 pm #

    I put items in the fridge.

  42. Lesley F September 28, 2013 at 5:53 pm #

    Put in fridge

  43. Kathleen M Smith September 28, 2013 at 8:11 pm #

    I have used special bags in the past, but am not entirely sure they helped

  44. Karen F September 28, 2013 at 9:08 pm #

    I do not have a method right now.

  45. vivian September 29, 2013 at 10:18 am #

    I don’t really have a good technique. We just try to buy the produce we know will be used in the immediate future. This would be great!

  46. Darlene Carbajal September 29, 2013 at 12:02 pm #

    We eat them asap before they spoil. :)

  47. Teresa Thompson September 29, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    I have produce keepers.

  48. Julie Harris September 29, 2013 at 1:37 pm #

    My mom always told me to put a paper towel in a bag of salad to keep it fresh, I have never heard of this product and I would love to put this to the test, we eat about 7 bags of salad a week but it would be so much easier and cheaper if I could buy the bigger bags and not have to worry about them going bad before we could eat it

  49. Stacy September 29, 2013 at 1:41 pm #

    Buy what I know I will use before it can spoil

  50. Laura Ellington September 29, 2013 at 1:58 pm #

    Make sure that the different fruits aren’t touching

  51. Debra Holloway September 29, 2013 at 2:27 pm #

    I use an open box of Arm&Hammer baking soda in the fridge and wrap everything or put it in air tight containers that I can.

  52. Brittney House September 29, 2013 at 2:59 pm #

    I don’t have a method.

  53. darby September 29, 2013 at 6:55 pm #

    I try putting them in the crisper

  54. wendy b September 29, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

    Ah….geez….I really do not have any method in place right now.

  55. Mihaela Day September 29, 2013 at 8:44 pm #

    I currently don’t use any method except keeping them in the fridge :)

  56. liz September 29, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    I leave it in a paper bag

  57. Natalie yeoman September 29, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

    I keep it in the fridge

  58. Tara C September 29, 2013 at 10:57 pm #

    I don’t do anything to prolong the freshness of my produce right now – I really should, though, I just had to throw away some that had gone bad earlier today. :(

Add Comment Register



Leave a Reply